Well THAT Most Definitely Scared the Stuff Out of Me

I went to bed Saturday night, at a respectable blood sugar of 94. I wake up this morning and it takes me a minute to realize where I am. I most definitely was not at home in my bed. I was in the ER! Wait, what?? What the hell happened?? I didn’t remember ANYTHING. And that scared me more than anything. Apparently, my sugars crashed last night. (STILL trying to figure out what happened). So the story goes, I apparently dropped, and that didn’t wake me up. So I guess, I was starting to throw some punches and kicks and woke up my boyfriend. After he woke, he figured out what was going on, tested my sugar, and found me to be at 44. Verified that with another one, this time 40. Apparently I was completely out of it. And also not willing to cooperate. He tried to get me to take glucose gel, which even though it doesn’t taste bad anymore, I was still having none of it. My eyes were open, but I wasn’t there. He called my mom, who is about 5 minutes away, to come help. Keep in mind this is all about 430am-500am. After she got there, they discovered the emergency Glucagon was expired and that was it…in the car he plopped me and to the ER we went. I woke up very shortly thereafter and when I figured out after a minute where I was and what happened, I was scared. Not so much that I dropped. Not at all. It happens. But when it does, I KNOW that it happens. I feel it, I test, I treat and I’m good. Even if it is in the middle of the night, I somehow wake up on my own and am able to treat myself. I have NEVER had this happen to me, EVER. And that is what scared the crap out of me. I hadn’t had a CLUE of what happened, no recollection, nothing, nada, zip. The ONLY thing I could even possibly think of is that when I dropped, I was in that deep of a sleep, that I didn’t wake. But who knows. Maybe it was a fluke.
No new meds, same doses, same everything. I tested no less that I test on any given day. I didn’t do any more work than usual…Nothing…
After 16+ years of T1D, this is the first time this happened. I don’t guess that’s too bad. Hopefully it is the last.
I guess what bothers me the fact that I had to depend on someone else to take care of me, and today, to save my life. I’ve always been able to do this on my own if I had to. I’ve always had people there for me, but I did everything myself.
I am going to back Lantus down a couple units until I get to see my doc and level me out. I have been slightly lower than normal, but nothing to warrant this, at all.
I’ve been contemplating a CGM of some sort for a while now, and I think I am going to finally do it. This might have been the push I needed.
It just goes to show you, you can do everything right, follow every rule, and diabetes doesn’t always do the same for you. Just a little fairness is all I ask. But some days, like today, I think its just a little too much to ask.
And as silly as it might sound, I am actually scared to go to bed tonight.

One thought on “Well THAT Most Definitely Scared the Stuff Out of Me

  1. Scott E

    First off, I’m so glad that you came through everything OK! I really feel for you… and for your boyfriend… for having to go through this. And kudos to him for handling it properly.

    There were two occasions where I was staying overnight at my then-girlfriend (now wife)’s place and the same thing happened to me. I went low overnight, and ended up in an ambulance to the hospital. She stuck with me both times, and it was quite a bit later that she told me how scared she was and how she never wanted to go through that again. I am so grateful to have her, and this is part of the reason I asked her to marry me. (Oddly, the first of these incidents is how our parents first met each other).

    Make sure your boyfriend knows how appreciative you are of him. And that the steps your taking to make sure this doesn’t happen again is for both of you. Oh, and going 16 years without a serious overnight low is quite impressive! You’re doing well, and taking steps to get even better.

    Things happen, and this is an example of that. But I hope you can regain the confidence that you deserve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

