It’s Here!! MY Dexcom G4 (Pink, of course) is HERE!!!!

I was like a child waiting for Christmas morning waiting for the FedEx girl to bring my package to my office. (I had to sign for it and didn’t want to take a whole day off work just wait for it, but for the record, I totally would have). Anyways, I couldn’t concentrate for anything. It was sad really, but I had been waiting for what seems like such a long time and the last few hours were definitely the longest. But it finally showed up after lunch and then the next longest wait…the wait for the time to clock out. It finally came and straight home I went. Ate dinner, took a shower and got ready to get my first sensor inserted and get the show on the road. I got out the shower, got everything ready and got it done. I guess I was building it up so much in my head, but it went by pretty easily and surprisingly painless. Now that I think about it, I don’t know why I was expecting it to be a problem. I guess its the whole under-promise and over-deliver thing. Whatever it was, it’s all good. My only regret is that my honey was off at work and won’t be home for more than a week from now. So he didn’t get to see the process, but I’m pretty sure that he will be a pro at the whole thing in no time. It is just one more thing he has to deal since it is now a part of me. I shouldn’t say deal with, but I can’t think of a better way to put it at the moment.
Now I’m in the middle of the two hour start up and now it’s becoming a long two hours so I turned to catch this up and hopefully pass by a little time. Dang it, I do type fast. Blame it on the day job. People tell me all the time that I type fast, even if I am on the phone, the person on the other end will tell me how fast they can hear me typing. I take the compliment and just don’t really realize it until I stop and listen to my fingers on the keys. But, I digress. I’m having attention issues this evening. πŸ™‚ I am looking forward to being able to take a peek into my levels in between finger sticks. I can see it now: I am going to drain the battery the first day because I am going to constantly be checking the dexcom. But hopefully my OCD and Type A personality will get over the newness and the excitement and let the Dex just be another part of my life with diabetes. Only now, hopefully with a little more knowledge and insight on my glucose levels, more than the 5-8 snapshots I see throughout the day. Peace out peeps…Here’s to an awesome first overnight (ok first ever) trend graph. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

