Certainly you MUST be mistaken

Same ould every day, ok night, bedtime BG check…5, 4, 3, 2, 1…29. Wait, WHAT? There’s no way. Let’s try that again shall we? Poke…5, 4, 3, 2, 1…33. HUH? Even though i didn’t really feel low…and Dexcom wasn’t showing low or dropping and any ridiculous rate, these numbers were just not computing.
I was not alone, thankfully, but I didn’t feel like one should feel with a BG in the low 30’s range. The last time I had a reading in the 30’s, I woke up in the ER. Freaked out much? Um, yes. So I grabbed a glass and poured it full of OJ and downed it. Then and only then did I start to feel bad. My usual low symptoms of sweaty, shaky and still a little confused. Finally getting my thoughts as straight as they were going to be at the time, I decided to eat something. Instead of just drinking juice. For me, If i have something with protein or long lasting carbs, that tends to keep me more stable, especially over night.
Or NOT. I had Dex wake me up another 3 times over night with low alarms. Seriously in need of more caffeine this morning. I think what scares me most is that even with a CGM, I must have been crashing really quick for the Dexcom not to catch up…how much longer did I have before I would have been symptommatic or even just pass out.
Oh well, just another T1D day.

Leave a Reply

